Board member and social security charges

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Is a member of the board of directors of your company domiciled in the EU?
Did you know that he/she may be subject to Swiss old-age and survivor’s insurance (OASI) with his or her entire worldwide income?

What are the possible problems regarding social security charges if a member exercises his or her activity in a Swiss company?

In a globalized economic world a lot of executives work in different countries. In addition to the tax related consequences also the social security implications need to be considered.

 

Case 1

A German citizen, domiciled in Germany and self-employed as member of a supervisory board, becomes member of the board of directors of a Swiss company.

Assessment: As a member of the board of directors (BoD) his or her remuneration for his Swiss activity is subject to Swiss social security charges. Moreover, the member’s income from the activity as member of the supervisory board in Germany is also subject to the Swiss social security regime.

 

 

Case 2

A Spanish citizen, resident in Spain and head of a globally active firm, becomes in addition member of the BoD of a Swiss subsidiary. Her activity as member of the Swiss BoD is unremunerated.

Assessment: In this case there is as well a risk that the respective administrative bodies will collect social security charges not only on income (if any) as a member of the BoD, but also on her income from her activity as head of the global firm.

As a member of the BoD she is generally considered to be employed in Switzerland, irrespective of the question whether or not she actively exercises her functions. Further, it is irrelevant whether the remuneration is paid to her directly or transferred to a foreign company, or whether she gets remunerated at all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background

Principle of “Single Subordination”

In all of these cases the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (“Freizügigkeitsabkommen EU/CH”) is pertinent to determine which social security regime an internationally working person will be subjected to.
The subordination largely depends on whether a substantial part of the gainful occupation is exercised in the state where the person is domiciled. In particular, a person can only be subject to one single social security regime of an EU member state or of Switzerland; i.e. since 1 January 2012 so-called “double subordinations” are no longer possible. The social security charges are collected in accordance with the respective applicable national law.

Diverging qualifications

In order to qualify the gainful occupation as either self-employed or an employed activity, the national law of that country applies where the respective activity is exercised. The application of national laws, however, may lead to diverging qualifications of the same activity exercised in different countries. For instance, a “classic example” is the activity of a member of the BoD which in Switzerland is considered an employed activity, while in most countries of the EU the same activity would be qualified as self-employment.

Severe Consequences

In most EU countries the social security charges are limited to a maximum amount. In contrast, Switzerland does not know such limitations of the charges. Given that the charges (rates) may amount up to 9.7% for self-employed activity, for e.g. a German member of the supervisory board with a salary of EUR 300’000 per year this difference in qualification may carry some weight.
The following provides an overview of the possible social security subordinations:

 

Employment in different countries

Employees working for the same employer in different countries have to exercise at least 25% of their occupation in their country of residence, in order to remain subject to the social security regime at their place of residence.
An employee who exercises less than 25% of his occupation in the country of residence will be subjected to the social security regime of the country where the employer is incorporated.
Employees working for more than one employer in different countries continue to be governed by the regulations of the country of residence.

Self-employment in different states

Also self-employed persons who are active in different states have to exercise at least 25% of their activity in their country of residence, in order to remain subject to the social security regime at their place of residence. A self-employed person who does not reach that limit, will be subject to the social security regime of the country where the center of the self-employment lies.

Employment and self-employment in different countries

A person who is employed and self-employed at the same time in different countries will exclusively be subjected to the social security regulations of the country in which the employed work is performed.
Hence, the provisions on the subordination of employed persons prevail, i.e. a double subordination under both regimes of employment and self-employment is not possible.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.







Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ver­walt­ungs­rat mit EU Pass – Schwei­zer-AHV

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Hat Ihr Schwei­zer Unter­nehmen einen Ver­wal­tungs­rat mit Wohn­sitz in der EU?
Wussten Sie, dass Ihr VR unter Um­stän­den mit seinem ge­samten, welt­weiten Erwerbs­ein­kommen den Schwei­zer So­zial­ver­si­che­run­gen unter­steht?

Was sind mögli­che Pro­ble­me bei der sozi­al­ver­sicherungs­recht­li­chen Unter­stellung bei Aus­übung eines VR-­Mandates in einer Schwei­zer Ge­sell­schaft?

In einer glo­bali­sier­ten Wirt­schafts­welt sind viele Führungs­kräfte in unter­schied­lichen Ländern tätig. Neben den steuer­li­chen Fol­gen sind dabei auch die sozial­ver­sicherungs­recht­li­chen Kon­se­quen­zen zu be­ach­ten.

 


Fall 1

Ein deut­scher Staats­an­ge­höriger mit Wohn­sitz in Deutsch­land und einer selb­stän­di­gen Erwerbs­tätig­keit als Auf­sichts­rat wird zu­sätzlich Ver­waltungs­rat einer Schwei­zer Ge­sell­schaft

Ein­schätzung: Als Ver­walt­ungs­rat unter­liegt sein Ver­walt­ungs­rats­honorar den Schwei­zer Sozial­ab­gaben. Aber auch sein Ein­kommen aus der Tätig­keit als Auf­sichts­rat in Deutschl­and unter­liegt den Schwei­zer Sozial­ver­sicherungs­ab­gaben.


Fall 2

Eine spanische Staats­an­gehörige mit Wohn­sitz in Spanien wird neben ihrer Tätig­keit als Konzern­chefin einer inter­national tätigen Unter­nehmens­gruppe auch Ver­waltungs­rätin einer Schwei­zer Tochter­gesell­schaft. Für ihre Tätig­keit als Ver­waltungs­rätin erhält sie keine Ent­schädigung.

Ein­schätzung: Auch in diesem Fall be­steht das Risiko, dass die Schwei­zer Sozial­ver­sicherungs­behörden nicht nur auf ihrem etwaigen Ein­kommen aus der Ver­walt­ungs­rats­tätigkeit, sondern auch auf ihrem aus­ländi­schen Ein­kommen aus selb­stän­di­ger Erwerbs­tätig­keit Sozi­al­ver­sicherungs­ab­gaben er­heben.
Als Ver­waltungs­rätin gilt sie grund­sätzlich als in der Schweiz erwerbs­tätig, unab­hängig davon, ob sie die ihr zu­stehenden Be­fugnisse tat­sächlich aus­übt oder nicht. Ebenfalls nicht mass­gebend ist der Um­stand, dass die Honorare der be­troffenen Person allen­falls nicht direkt aus­bezahlt, sondern an eine aus­ländi­sche Gesell­schaft über­wiesen werden oder dass gar keine Ent­schädi­gung aus­ge­richtet wird.

 

 

Hintergrund

Grund­satz der Ein­fach­unter­stellung

In all diesen Fällen ist das Frei­zügig­keits­ab­kommen mass­gebend. Dieses regelt, welchem Ver­sicherungs­system eine inter­national er­werbs­tätige Person unter­stellt ist.
Die Ver­sicherungs­unter­stellung hängt mass­geblich davon ab, ob ein we­sent­li­cher Teil der Er­werbs­tätig­keit im Wohn­staat aus­ge­übt wird. Ins­besondere unter­liegt eine Person immer nur den Rechts­vor­schriften eines einzi­gen EU-­Mit­glied­staates oder der Schweiz. Doppel­unter­stellungen oder andere Sonder­vor­schriften sind seit dem 1.1.2012 nicht mehr mög­lich. Die Bei­trags­erhebung erfolgt dann nach dem für an­wendbar erklär­ten natio­nalen Recht.

Diver­gie­rende Quali­fi­katio­nen

Für die Quali­fi­kati­on als selb­stän­dige (SE) oder un­selb­stän­dige Erwerbs­tätigkeit (USE) gelangt immer das lokale Recht des­jenigen Landes zur An­wen­dung, in welchem die ent­sprechen­de Tätig­keit aus­geübt wird. Dies kann in eini­gen Fällen zu diver­gierenden Qualifikationen von ein und derselben Tätigkeit führen, wenn sie in unterschiedlichen Ländern ausgeübt wird. Ein „Klassiker“ ist beispielsweise die Tätigkeit als Ver­walt­ungs­rat – diese gilt in der Schweiz als unselb­stän­dige Erwerbstätigkeit, in den meisten EU-Ländern hingegen als selb­stän­dige Tätig­keit.

Gravieren­de Fol­gen

In den meisten EU-Ländern sind die Sozial­ver­sicherungs­ab­gaben auf einen Maximal­be­trag be­grenzt. Im Gegen­satz dazu kennt die Bei­trags­pflicht bei den Schwei­zer Sozial­ver­sicherungs­ab­gaben keine Be­gren­zung nach oben. Bei Bei­trags­sätzen von bis zu 9.7% für selb­ständig Erwerbs­tätige kann dies bei­spiels­weise für einen deutschen Auf­sichts­rat mit einem Jahres­salär von EUR 300‘000 durch­aus ins Gewicht fallen.

Nach­folgend findet sich eine Über­sicht über die sozial­ver­sicherungs­rechtliche Unter­stellung:

USE in mehreren Staaten

Arbeit­nehmende, die für den­selben Arbeit­geber in mehreren Staaten tätig sind, müssen min­destens 25% ihrer Erwerbs­tätigkeit im Wohn­staat aus­üben. So bleiben sie dem Sozial­versicherungs­recht ihres Wohn­staates unter­stellt.

Wer weniger als 25% im Wohn­staat erwerbs­tätig ist, wird den Rechts­vor­schriften desjenigen Staates unter­stellt, in dem der Arbeit­geber seinen Sitz hat.

Arbeit­nehmende, die für mehrere Arbeit­geber mit Sitz in ver­schiedenen Staaten erwerbs­tätig sind, bleiben im Wohn­staat unter­stellt.

SE in mehreren Staaten

Auch Selb­stän­di­ger­werbende, die in mehreren Staaten tätig sind, müssen min­destens 25% ihrer Erwerbs­tätigkeit in ihrem Wohn­staat aus­üben. So bleiben sie dem Sozi­al­ver­sicherungs­recht ihres Wohn­staates unter­stellt. Wer weniger als 25% im Wohn­staat erwerbs­tätig ist, wird den Rechts­vor­schrif­ten desjenigen Staates unter­stellt, in dem sich der Mit­tel­punkt der selb­stän­digen Erwerbs­tätigkeit be­findet.

Gleich­zeitige USE und SE in mehreren Staaten

Die Regeln für die Ver­si­che­rungs­unter­stellung aus un­selb­stän­diger Tätig­keit gehen vor. Es ist also keine Dop­pel­unter­stellung möglich.

Wer gleich­zeitig als Arbeit­nehmer und als Selb­stän­dig­er­werb­en­der in mehreren Staaten tätig ist, wird aus­schliess­lich den Rechts­vor­schriften des Staates unter­stellt, in der die un­selb­stän­dige Tätigkeit er­folgt.

 

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.







Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.